Through active enforcement, the Douglas County BuildinHouse being built - under constructiong Department is dedicated to the protection of the health, safety, and welfare of all persons who live, work or visit the “built environment” of Douglas County, by striving to provide the consistent, efficient, and effective administration of the Oregon Building Code. The Department remains fully fee supported with all operating costs being derived from permit fees collected.


This page has been developed to help you find design anGreen and Tan Rendered Housed construction guidelines, and requirements for obtaining construction permits in Douglas County. Our goal and mission is to partner with you in achieving safe built structures by complying with current building codes and safety standards. We want to help you succeed in your project!


The Douglas County Building Department first opened its doors in 1974, with the enactment of Senate Bill 73, which later became ORS 456. On July 1, 1974, this legislation effectively created the Oregon State Building Code. The Department offers a full complement of basic inspection services. The entire Douglas County inspection program is in Room 106 of the Justice Building in Roseburg. The County building and electrical inspection programs serve all jurisdictions within the County, except for the city of Reedsport, which has its own independently contracted inspection agency.

Douglas County Geography

Douglas County is located in southwestern Oregon and encompasses approximately 5,071 square miles more than half of which is owned by the Federal government. The County extends from sea level at Reedsport and Gardiner near the Pacific Coast to an elevation of 9,182 feet at Mt. Thielsen in the Cascade Range, and the entire Umpqua River watershed lies within its boundaries. Douglas County is bordered by:

  • Crater Lake National Park
  • Coos County
  • Curry County
  • Jackson County
  • Josephine County
  • Klamath County
  • Lane County
  • Pacific Ocean


The information provided here is for convenience only. Although reasonable attempts are made to maintain this information as accurate as possible. Douglas County in no way will be liable for any inaccuracies, errors, omissions or other deviations in this information.