Landfill / Transfer Sites

Douglas County Public Works Department operates 10 solid waste transfer sites throughout the county, the Roseburg Landfill, and the recycling and waste reduction program.

View the Landfill and Transfer Sites in Douglas County

The Landfill is the actual location where waste material is deposited. Other materials are also stored here for processing. Transfer Stations are facilities where general waste and recycling is collected from the public. Some materials may be restricted and not accepted at transfer stations. 

Holiday Closures

All Douglas County Solid Waste Facilities are closed on the following Holidays:

  • New Years Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Presidents' Day
  • Memorial Day
  • July 4
  • Labor Day
  • Veteran's Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

Note Regarding Unrestrained Loads

All unrestrained loads are subject to a $300 fine. This fine may increase for each repeated occurrence. An unrestrained load is defined as any load that can drop, sift, leak, blow, or otherwise escapes from the transporting vehicle. The trash in closed plastic bags that are below the sidewalls is acceptable. If bags are above sidewalls, they must be restrained with a rope, net, or tarp. Tailgates shall be used.

Recycle Power - What Goes Around Comes Around
Compactor Vehicle